Chaos theory

I have a seen a great many of statements that made my days and helped me to realize some important issues of the life. But there is one which I find extremely important. You may have seen it in the film Butterfly’s effect. It says ‘something as small as the flutter of a butterfly’s wings can ultimately cause a typhoon halfway around the world’. Naturally, it is taken from the Chaos theory. The theory says that complicated systems are enormously dependent from the initial conditions and even slightly small changes can lead to unpredictable consequences. And it is truly so.

People rapidly get used to certain circumstances. Sometimes they are frustrated by their lives, yet they don’t want to change something, because changing something means stepping out of your comfort zone. We become snails preferring to hide when we experience something unexpected.

Recently I have done a lot in the practice of stepping out of my comfort zone.

I should confess that I am extremely afraid of the height. I don’t know where this fear comes from, but it definitely wasn’t from the very beginning. I have jumped out from the swimming tower once and it was fun, but after I did it I realized how scary it was and from then I stopped jumping. I decided to start getting rid of my height fear and applied for the rock-climbing lesson. The wall for climbing was about 6 meters high. I know it is not that big. Most people are not afraid of such stuff. I realize it. But I am not from that one. The moment I climbed the wall I look down and it was so scary for me. I collected myself and then begin relaxing and having fun. I felt myself so free that day! The mood is amazing, legs-hurt, shoes – collapsed. I am not afraid to confess my fears. Revealing my fears only make me stronger and the desire to get rid of it become even easier.

Another my stepping out of the comfort zone is connected with my photography. We all get used to do some things the way we see them. We rather do some things the usual way then try to use new methods. I have been working on a picture for a long time (you’ll see it), but one thing wasn’t just getting right. My old way of doing things worked not quiet well. I wasn’t satisfy with the result. I tried to use some new techniques and new working methods in my photography. It turned out to be hard. It takes much longer time, but it will definitely bring positive results in the future. At least I believe in it.

Please don’t get me wrong. The reason I am writing this is not to read praise words or to boast (oh, gosh no!). I write this only to tell how important it is to remember that even such a slight change in life like rock-climbing lesson (watching arthouse movie, getting new haircut, one day trip to the nearest town) can ultimately change your way of thinking and perceiving this world.

I appeal to you my friends today to start stepping out of you comfort zones, to try new things, to open up something new for yourself. Remember – stagnation is a mind-killer.

What did you do to step out of your comfort zone? I would love to read. Let’s change experiences!

Image

cold returning, 2014

Я читала много замечательных высказываний, способных пролить свет на важные аспекты жизни. Одно из них я нахожу особенно важным. Вы видели его в фильме «Эффект бабочки»«взмах крыла бабочки может вызвать ураган на другом конце света». Согласно теории хаоса самое незначительное изменение начальных условий делает результат непредсказуемым.

Люди быстро привыкают к различным обстоятельствам. Зачастую они могут находиться в состоянии полной неудовлетворенностью жизнью, но, тем не менее, не пытаются предпринять попытки что-либо изменить. Прятаться подобно улитке в своем «домике» куда проще. Изменить что-либо – значит выйти из комфортной зоны.

Недавно я попыталась выйти из своей комфортной зоны.

Должна признаться…я жутко боюсь высоты. Не знаю, откуда пришел этот страх, но он не был присущ мне с рождения. Однажды, я прыгнула с вышки в бассейне. Ощущения были чудесными, но как только я сделала это, то осознала весь ужас высоты. С тех пор я не предпринимала попыток прыгнуть снова.

Желание побороть свой страх подвигло меня записаться на урок скалолазания. Стена для скалолазания была небольшой (около 6 метров). Я осознаю, что многие такого бы не испугались, но я не принадлежу к числу этих людей. Забравшись на самый верх стены, мне стало жутко страшно, но я сумела преодолеть себя и успокоилась. Настроение стало великолепное, ноги – повреждёнными, обувь – стёртой. Я была просто в восторге от занятия! Я не боюсь делиться своими страхами. Признание боязни чего-либо делает меня лишь сильнее и придает мне новые силы в желании преодолеть свой страх.

В фотографии я также предприняла попытку выйти из комфортной зоны. Долгое время я работала над одной фотографией (вы скоро её увидите), применяя новые методы работы. Пригодился графический планшет, купленный два года назад, но так и не нашедший до этого места на моём рабочем столе. Было сложно начинать работать новым способом, ведь занимал куда больше времени, чем мне привычный. Все оказалось намного сложней, чем думалось вначале. Но я знаю, все это принесёт плоды в скором будущем.

Пожалуйста, не поймите меня не правильно. Причина, по которой я все это пишу, заключается не в желании услышать хвалебные слова. Я прошу вас обратить внимание на то, как иногда даже самое малое изменение в нашей жизни, будь то урок скалолазания, просмотр артхаусного фильма, новая прическа или поездка в близлежащий город могут способно в корне изменить наш образ мышления и мир вокруг, привнеся новые краски.

Я призываю вас попытаться выйти из своей комфортной зоны, попробовать новые вещи, открыть что-то новое для себя. Помните – стагнация убивает разум.

Что вы сделали, чтобы выйти из своей комфортной зоны? Давайте делиться опытом!

Leave a Reply

