Mechanical dreams

When I was little I dreamt of drawing and my mother sent me to the Art School. On the very first lesson the pupils supposed to draw a silhouette of a person, sitting right in front of them. I remember being very nervous that day. I have been drawing a person for the first time of my life. I only drew objects before. The room was extremely small, a great many of pupils filled it. A huge pack of books and boxes encumbered the room and made it even look smaller. I felt that it wasn’t right to draw only a silhouette. I thought that it would be great to draw a pressing atmosphere of that room to show a person in the story, just like in Kafka’s novels. At that time I didn’t take a risk and fulfilled the task as it was demanded. A relaxed figure in an absent space appeared on the piece of paper.

Then I wanted to be part of a swimming team. At that time I could already swim, but I wanted to do it faster and more refined. My mum helped me to enter the swimming section.

I have always felt body stiffness and I went to a Dancing School to feel my body better.

The last childhood hobby of mine was English. I remember watching English music videos. When I asked adults what singers sang they only answered: ‘They sing what they show in music video’. ‘There should be a trick’ – I thought to myself. At that time music videos have already been abstract and had nothing to do with the words of the song. I decided to go to Lingua Centre to understand what English performers sing.

I have never put responsibility for my passions on my parents. Nobody has even made me go to sections. My parents didn’t expect me to become a great linguist, a professional sportsman, a painter of New Age or someone else. The only criterion for them was a glitter in my eyes. You may have thought, my dear reader, that I went from one extreme to another. But I was doing it all just to find myself and understand who I really am. Skills that I once reserved I use these days.

There were little prohibitions in childhood. I grew up as a freedom-loving and self-reliant person. I always had a family support and the freedom of choice. A freedom of choice expects a full responsibility for the actions and I was only happy about it. I do not rely on other people’s experiences. I prefer to feel everything, my own way. Childhood helped me to realize a very important thing – you can’t understand what you like unless you try it.

That is why, I am like that little girl from my childhood, believe that my dreams will come true.

P.S. thanks to Su5 and Evolovesart for the plane pictures.

Image

mechanical dreams, 2014

Когда я была маленькая, я очень хотела рисовать. Мама записала меня в художественную школу. На первом занятии необходимо было изобразить силуэт человека, позировавшего совсем близко от меня. Я помню, как  сильно волновалась, ведь до этого я рисовала только предметы. Помещение было крошечным, учеников в кабинете было много. Огромное количество книг и коробок загромождали и без того маленькую комнату. Мне казалось, что силуэта будет недостаточно. Необходимо было показать давящую обстановку вокруг, подобно той, что описана в романах Кафки. Но тогда я не рискнула ослушаться учителя. На альбомном листе возникла расслабленная фигура в отсутствующем пространстве.

Позже я очень хотела попасть в секцию плавания. Тогда я уже умела плавать, но хотела делать это быстрее и изящнее. И мама записала меня в секцию по плаванию.

В детстве я также ощущала скованность движений и очень хотела научиться танцевать, чтобы лучше чувствовать свое тело. Так я оказалась в школе танцев.

Последним моим детским увлечением стал английский язык. Я смотрела музыкальные видеоклипы и на мой вопрос: «О чем там поют?» взрослые отвечали: «О том, что показывают». Я сразу почувствовала подвох. Это мало что объясняло, ведь большинство клипов весьма абстрактны и не имеют какой-либо привязанности к словам песни. И я решила изучать английский язык. Так я оказалась в Лингва-Центре.

Я никогда не возлагала ответственность за мои увлечения на родителей. Меня никогда насильно не тащили на кружки. Мои родители не ждали от меня, что я стану великим лингвистом, профессиональным спортсменом, художником нового времени или еще кем-то. Главным критерием для них всегда был – «блеск» в моих глазах. Поэтому я занималась тем или иным занятием до тех пор, пока оно приносило мне удовольствие. Со стороны может показаться, что меня бросало из крайности в крайность. На самом деле я находилась в поисках себя. Каждым из этих хобби я занималась продолжительное время (от года до 10 лет, а некоторыми и по сей день). Навыки, полученные ранее, помогают мне и сегодня.

В детстве было мало запретов. Я выросла свободолюбивым и самостоятельным человеком. У меня всегда была поддержка и право выбора. Наличие альтернативы предполагало ответственность за свои поступки, и я была рада этому. Я не полагаюсь на опыт других людей. Предпочитаю все прочувствовать сама. В детстве я поняла очень важную вещь – нельзя понять что тебе нравится, не попробовав этого.

Наверное, именно поэтому я, словно та маленькая девочка из моего детства, верю в мечты, которые непременно сбудутся. 

Leave a Reply

