The theory of offence

I always get confused when I find out that I have offended somebody. The reason why I get confused is simple – I didn’t have any intentions to offend a person. Nevertheless, offence is there. But what is the reason?

The intention not to offend people is quiet altruistic. Earlier I had followed this intention a lot. I tried to foresee the reaction of people, tried to figure out the forbidden and unpleasant topics in order not to ask about them and therefore not to offend. I have to admit that people really started to get offended less, but in the chase for altruism I have lost myself. I didn’t ask what I really wanted to ask, I didn’t behave myself as I wanted to. At last, the only person I offended at that period was me.

Resentment is the reaction of protest. It is dissatisfaction by the behavior of the others. A person hasn’t done something you expected from him? Then it is the time to get offended. The logic thought that a person mustn’t behave as you want him to – doesn’t even show up.

There is something more in the nature of offence than just frustration and the desire to influence on somebody. I have a theory of offence. I believe that nobody wants to offend anybody. By this phrase I don’t speak about people with deviation behavior, like aggressors who want to make everybody feel negative emotions. I write about people who are happy, inspired and wanted to live in harmony with their surrounding. It is absolutely obvious that there is always a choice – to be offended or not.  Life is so beautiful that we always have a choice. And it is very important to make it right.

The question of offence becomes even easier when you remember one simple truth: nobody owes you something and you don’t owe anybody something else. 

A person needs to deal with his offence or it will absorb him. People are like trees – bring fruitage to the world. Offence kills something deep inside of us. It kills our fruit. Do you really want to lose all your fruit only because of negative emotions of past offences? It is time to release them.

From the beginning of this year I began not only share my picture, but also thoughts. I understand that sometimes my opinion can hurt somebody. Somebody may get offended. I am ready for this. But I vividly remember that there is always a choice – to get offended or not to.

Do people get often offended by you? What is your reaction to that? What do you do with your offences?

Image

the theory of offence, 2014

Обычно я удивляюсь, узнав, что кто-то на меня обиделся. Мое удивление зачастую связано с тем, что у меня не было ни малейших намерений обидеть человека. Однако обида произошла. В чем же дело?

Желание не обижать других людей весьма альтруистично. Ранее я неизменно следовала ему. Я пыталась предугадать реакцию того или иного человека наперед, заведомо узнать запретные темы и не затрагивать слишком личностные вопросы. Я должна признаться, что окружающие на меня действительно начали меньше обижаться, но в желании не обижать других я потеряла саму себя. Я не спрашивала то, что мне хотелось спросить, я не вела себя так, как мне хотелось. Я говорила все и делала все, чтобы никого не обидеть, однако, обидела в первую очередь саму себя.

Обида – это реакция протеста. Обида – это недовольство поведением другого человека. Человек не повел себя так, как вы ожидали? Что ж, пришло время обижаться. Логичная мысль о том, должен ли другой человек поступать именно так, как хотите этого вы – уходит на второй план.

Осознание того, что в обиде есть что-то большее, чем просто фрустрация или желание повлиять на человека пришло позже. У меня появилась своя теория обиды. Я считаю, что никто изначально никого не хочет обидеть. Прошу заметить, что я не говорю сейчас о девиантном поведении людей, в частности о поведении человека-агрессора, желание которого как можно больше людей вывести из себя. Я говорю о человеке, стремящемся радоваться жизнью и быть в гармонии с окружающими. Очевидно, что у любого человека всегда есть выбор – обижаться или нет. Жизнь тем и прекрасна, что у нас всегда есть выбор. Главное сделать его правильно.

В вопросе обид все становится куда проще, если помнить простую истину: никто никому ничего не должен. Вам не должны и вы никому не должны.

Человеку необходимо разобраться со своими собственными обидами. Иначе они поглотят его. Люди, подобно деревьям, приносят плоды в этот мир. Обиды неизменно «убивают» что-то внутри нас. Убивают наши «плоды». Неужели вам хочется потерять все свои «плоды» из-за негативных эмоций прошлых обид? Пришла пора их отпустить.

С начала этого года я начала делиться не только фотографиями, но и своими мыслями. Я отдаю себе отчет, что то, о чем я пишу, может кого-то задеть. На меня могут обидеться. Я к этому всецело готова. Но я помню о наличие прекрасного выбора, который у меня всегда есть – обидеться/не обидеться.

А на вас часто обижаются? Какова ваша реакция? Что делать со своими обидами?

Leave a Reply

