Getting older

It is natural for a human being to have fears. Some of us are afraid of the height, some are afraid of the deceases, others are afraid of the snakes. The fears we have are quiet different. But there is something that I find really important concerning the topics of fears. It is to overcome your fears. By overcoming your fears you become a stronger person.

There is one kind of fear that I personally can’t understand. It is the fear of senility. I have faced this fear at first when I noticed that one of my friends is extremely afraid of getting older. She desperately looks for new wrinkles and has a list of what she should certainly do for the particular age, or else it would be too late, while ‘the clocks are ticking’.

It is so typical for people to wish to become older when they are under 18. And when they are 18 or more there are dreaming of becoming younger. Never in my life did I want to become older. I didn’t want to become younger as well. I haven’t been expecting my 18’s. To be honest, nothing really changed as I became 18. I have already been self-contained to that time and have been allowed to do things that I wanted to do.

I think that there is no right age for doing certain activities. I am 23, is that a lot or not enough? Some people will say: ‘It is not enough, you are too young to do this or that’. The others will say: ‘It is too much. For this age you should have done this and that’. To my mind, the question where this age is a lot or not is absurd. There is no particular and certain time for making things happen (entering university, building up a family, giving birth, etc.). There is no sense in corresponding to statistics or trying to do the things as others used to do them. There is no guarantee that others do things right. The only thing that counts here is your own perception and wishes.

Every age is unique and beautiful in its own way. You are progressing, your world outlook expands, you are gaining new experience and skills. At last, I believe that nothing can be more natural for a human being then getting older.

What other fears of people you can’t understand? Please, tell me about your experience.

девичий цвет

maidenly color, 2014

Страх естественен для человека. Некоторые из нас бояться высоты, некоторые болезней, другие змей. Наши страхи различны. Но, что я действительно считаю важным в жизни человека – попробовать преодолеть свои страхи. Преодолевая страх, мы становимся сильнее.

Есть один человеческая страх, природу которого мне тяжело понять. Это боязнь старости. Впервые я столкнулась с этим видом страха, обнаружив его у моей подруги, которая усиленно пыталась разглядеть появились ли у нее за вчерашний день новые морщины и все ли она успела осуществить к данному жизненному периоду, ведь часы-то тикают.

Очень часто люди мечтают стать старше, когда им меньше 18. И как только им стукнет 18 и больше, они мечтают больше не взрослеть. Никогда в своей жизни я не мечтала стать старше, так же как и не мечтаю вдруг омолодиться. Я не ждала с упоением, когда мне стукнет 18. Честно говоря, ничего существенно в моей жизни с приходом 18 лет не изменилось. К тому времени я уже была самостоятельным человеком и мне было позволено делать некоторые вещи, которые никак не повлияли на то было ли мне к тому времени 18 или нет.

Я считаю, что в жизни нет правильного возраста для каких-либо действий. Мои 23 года – это много или мало? Некоторые скажут: «Совсем мало, ты совсем юна, чтобы сделать то и это». Другие скажут: «О, да это уже много. Ты уже должна было успеть сделать то и это». На мой взгляд, и те и другие заблуждаются. В жизни нет правильного, четко отведенного времени для различных вещей (создания семьи, поступления в университет, рождения ребенка и т.д.). Нет смысла равняться на статистику или на то, как это принято делать у других. Нет никакой гарантии, что то, что делают другие, а главное когда они это делают, является правильным, истинным. Единственное, что важно, это ваши личностные ощущения и желания.

Каждый возраст уникален и прекрасен по-своему. Вы развиваетесь, ваше миропонимание меняется. У вас появляется новый, ранее неизведанный вам навык или опыт. Лично я считаю, что нет ничего более естественного в жизни человека, чем старение.

Какие человеческие страхи вы не можете понять? Расскажите, о своем опыте.

Leave a Reply

