Who am I?

We often ask ourselves: ‘Who we are in this world?’. And let others give answers instead of us. Let’s admit it, to be honest with oneself is pretty difficult. The desire to admit your strong points and change your weak points, become kinder can turn out to be an unbearable fight with oneself.

I listen to other people’s opinion about me. But what I find of most importance is what I personally think about myself.

So who am I? I am a photographer. And who is a photographer? Is it the one who earns money taking pictures? Is it the one taking part in exhibitions? Is it the one who sells his pictures? Yes and no, I would say. Without a doubt all these activities are a part of what photographers do, but not its main point.

Photography is an important part of my life. But it isn’t the main income item for me. And so did I stop being a photographer because of that? No, I didn’t. I have always been one. I became a photographer the moment I took a camera and realized that I want to make conceptual fine art pictures.

I took part in the international exhibition FormART this year, my pictures have been printed in the newspapers, I have seen my works on the websites. But not all this events make me a photographer. I have already been a photographer before these events. My inspiration and desire to create and inspire others make me a photographer. I am in the constant search for myself. Photography helps me to expose myself.

Now I am sitting in my cozy room, reflection on the question: ‘Who am I?’. So who am I? I am a wife, photographer, traveler, creator of fine art pictures, writer. But above all I am a dreamer and life-lover.

Spend five minutes of your time today and ask yourself a question: ‘Who am I?’. Do I go the right way? Am I a happy person? Do I feel needed? At last, only you can decide who you are in this world.

251small-figure in black, 2014

***

Мы часто задаемся вопросом: «Кто мы есть в этом мире?». И зачастую предоставляем возможность другим ответить за нас. Быть честным с собой бывает весьма нелегко. Желание признать свои достоинства и попытаться исправить недостатки, стать чуточку добрее зачастую оборачивается невыносимой борьбой с самим собой.

Я прислушиваюсь к мнению людей. Но мне важнее всего, что я сама думаю о себе.

Так кто же я? Я фотограф. Но кто такой фотограф? Это тот, кто этим зарабатывает на жизнь? Этот тот, кто принимает участие в выставках? Это тот, кто продает свои работы? И да, и нет, отвечу я. Все это, безусловно, определяет деятельность фотографа, но не является ее сущностью.

Фотография занимает важную часть моей жизни. Но при этом не является главной статьей моего дохода. Разве после этого я перестала быть фотографом? Нет. Я всегда была им, с момента, когда впервые взяла в руки камеру и осознала, что создание художественных, концептуальных историй с использованием фотоаппарата – моя главная страсть.

В этом году я впервые приняла участие в международной выставке, мои работы напечатали в газетах, я видела их на сайтах. Но не эти события делают меня фотографом. До всех этих событий я уже была фотографом. Фотографом меня делает мое неисчерпаемое желание творить и вдохновлять. Я нахожусь в постоянном поиске себя. Фотография помогает мне раскрыться.

И вот я сижу в своей уютной комнате, и размышляют о том, кто же я.  Так кто же я? Я –  жена, фотограф, путешественник, создатель фотографических историй, писатель. Но более всего я мечтатель, безмерно любящий жизнь.

Потратьте сегодня пять минут вашего времени и задайтесь вопросом: «Кто я?». Идете ли вы по своему пути? Чувствуете ли вы себя счастливым, нужным? Помните, в конечном итоге только вы определяете, кто вы есть в этом мире.

2 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. “I am in the constant search for myself. Photography helps me to expose myself”.

    This is the case with me too. I am trying to be honest with myself about who I am. Dreamer and life lover check. Everything else, still figuring out :-)

Leave a Reply

