Recollections on death

The word ‘death’ is associated with fear, obscurity and deep sadness. The theme of death is taboo. I remember some episodes in my life when I used in conversation such words as death, die, tombstone with which I easily put my interlocutors into confusion. One day I was even given a reproach, telling that these words are kind of forbidden and shouldn’t be said aloud. I remember I was deeply confused by this reproach as when you look at the history of mankind it becomes obvious that birth and death are natural and essential parts of any life.

Fear of death is evident. Here I am and here I stop existing, What has changed? Was there a slightest sense in everything I’ve done? Is there a meaning of life?

I have heard about death in my childhood. I realized that for every beginning there is an end, I have seen the reports about famous people’ death, at last I have seen cats shook down on the roads. But still death was away from me. The first time I faced it was at the age of 10 when my father passed away unexpectedly. Just before it happened he said goodbye to me for a longer time than usual as he went for a walk. He has never came back.

The comprehension of what had happened came later. The death acquaintances astonished me. I still remember the fear gripping me. The fact that we are mortal and so weak shocked me. Then came sadness and sorrow from the fact that we can lose our beloved and one day pass away as well. Fourteen years has passed but there is no day I haven’t thought about death. And I know that many people are afraid of it the same as me, because it is something unexplored and unpredictable. It is something that can not be planned. Moreover, it is impossible to know what will be further if ever there will be something.

It can be seen from the side as if I am disenchanted by life, but is untrue. I admire life and am happy for the ability to feel and live. One can suppose that I am dreaming of immortality, but that is untrue again. Immortality would be punishment for me.

The fact that each of us has  certain years given makes our life and its meaning the highest value. There is life given. Sooner of later it will come to an end. It is inevitable. There is only one question left, concerning the meaning of life. How to spend the years given? One decides on his own. There is no universal meaning, but one can fulfill has life with sense. Devote oneself to something, experience something, share something. Only when you realize that everything comes to an end, your beginning and the path called life gains the deepest meaning. It can be seen that each of us is living in a personally created myth. A life-long myth.

the monster

the monster, 2015

Рассуждения о смерти

Слово “смерть” ассоциируется со страхом, ужасом, неизведанностью и глубокой печалью. Тема смерти  – табу. Я помню, пару эпизодов в моей жизнь, когда я, оперировав в своей речи словами смерть, умирать, надгробный камень, приводила собеседников в замешательство. Мне даже как-то сделали замечание, указав, что данные слова запретны и их необходимо избегать. Помню замечание меня чертовски озадачило, ведь если мы посмотрим на всю историю человечества, становится очевидно, что рождение, также как и смерть, являются естественными и неотъемлемыми вещами.

Страх человека перед смертью очевиден. Вот он я есть и вот меня нет. Что измениться? Был ли хоть малейший смыл во всем, что я делал? Есть ли смысл моего существования?

В детстве я слышала о смерти. Осознавала, что когда-то началу приходит конец, видела новости о смерти знаменитых людей, в конце концов видела сбитых кошек на дорогах. Но тем не менее, смерть была далеко от меня. Впервые я столкнулась с ней в возрасте 10 лет, когда неожиданно умер мой отец. Накануне он долго прощался со мной, уходя на прогулку. С прогулки он так и не вернулся.

Осознание того, что произошло, пришло не сразу. Знакомство со смертью ошарашило меня. Я до сих пор помню тот ужас, что сковал меня. Сам факт того, что мы смертны и слабы поверг меня в настоящий шок. Лишь через некоторое время пришла грусть и печаль от осознания того, что можно потерять близких людей, да и самому когда-нибудь кануть в лету. С тех пор прошло 14 лет и не было ни дня, чтобы я не задумывалась о смерти. И я знаю, что многие, также как и я, испытывают трепет и страх перед ней, ведь это что-то неизведанное и непредсказуемое. Что-то, что очень тяжело предугадать и спланировать. Более того, невозможно понять, что будет после и будет ли вообще.

Со стороны может показаться, что я разочарована тем, как устроена жизнь, но это далеко не так. Я восхищена жизнью и рада иметь возможность чувствовать и жить. Можно предположить, что я мечтаю о вечной жизни, но и это будет неправдой. Бессмертность для меня стала бы наказанием.

Именно тот факт, что каждому из нас отмерено определенное время и делает нашу жизнь и смысл нашего существования высшей ценностью. Жизнь – есть. Это данность. Рано или поздно она закончится. Это неизбежность. Остался только вопрос о смысле существования. Как потратить отведенные годы? Каждый решает сам. Универсального смысла нет, но именно ты можешь наполнить свою жизнь смыслом. Посвятить себя чему-то, узнать что-то, поделиться чем-то. Только когда ты осознаешь, что всему есть конец, твое начало и путь, под названием жизнь, обретает глубинный смысл. Получается мы живем в своем лично созданном мифе. Мифе, длинною в жизнь.

3 thoughts on “Recollections on death

Leave a Reply

