Self-conception

A human being can often be called by a beautiful world ‘personality’, which initially was used to define the mask that actors put on during performances in ancient Greek theatre. Paradoxically, but the word that nowadays is used to describe a human being as a complete structure, was prior used when someone tried to turn into somebody else, pretend to be somebody else. Maybe that is the reason why nowadays many people continue playing, like actors, hiding their true needs and motives to get what they want from others. But I won’t waste time talking about such characters. I want to find out the exact structure of human personality.

We live, or maybe exist and each of us has defined character, desires, motives and reactions. These are the things that make us. However, each of us has also idealistic picture of oneself, the picture what one can achieve, where one should realize his potential. That is why I would define the structure of personality as follows:

‘Real self’ – self of today, with all strong and weak points, with present and past.

‘Ideal self’ – future self expectations, concept of what I can achieve, what I can become.

Both of these term form ‘self-conception’, which illustrates common view of oneself as a part of the world. Often people are satisfy by the fact that they have the picture of ‘ideal self’, which warms the soul during boring evenings. ‘Ideal self’ is like a ghost always haunting around, giving the belief for a happy future. However, the true driving forces to development are hidden in internal contradictions between the ‘real self’ and ‘ideal self’. And that is the case when you can talk about true development, a step forward.

The purpose of life is in constant aspiration for realization of one’s potential. It is the road of trials to expose and bring to reality one’s abilities and talent, following the voice of nature. That is why I appeal to you to perform some activity today more assiduous than usual. I suggest you to go beyond the ordinary and haste, to become a little closer to your ‘ideal self’.

distortion

‘distortion’, 2015

Model: Sofiya Menshich

Об истоках самости

Человеческую сущность зачастую называют красивым словом “личность”, которое изначально обозначало маску, надеваемую актером древнегреческого театра. Как ни парадоксально, но то, что сегодня определяет вас как целостную структуру, ранее использовалось для того, чтобы на мгновение превратиться в кого-либо другого, скрыть свои истинные мотивы. Возможно именно поэтому, и сегодня, люди продолжают играть, подобно актерам, скрывая свои личные потребности и мотивы, чтобы заполучить свое. Но не об этих персонажах я хотела бы сегодня поговорить. А разобраться из чего именно состоит человеческая личность.

Мы живем, а возможно существуем, и при этом у каждого из нас имеется определенный поведенческий характер, побуждения, мотивы, реакции. Это то, что является частью нас. Однако, у каждого из нас имеется также идеализированная картинка самого себя, представление о том, каким хотелось бы быть, куда стоило бы стремиться. Именно поэтому я бы выделила две составляющие в личности:

“Реальный Я” – сегодняшний я, со всеми достоинствами и недостатками, с прошлым и настоящим.

“Идеальный Я” – мое ожидание от самого себя, что я могу достичь, что у меня получится реализовать.

Оба понятия формируют “Я-концепцию”, то есть общее представление о себе, как части этого мира. Зачастую людям достаточно просто наличие “идеального Я”, греющего душу скучными вечерами. “Идеальный Я” словно призрак маячит на горизонте, укрепляя веру человека в счастливое завтра. Однако истинными движущими силами развития человека являются внутренние противоречия между “реальным Я” и “идеальным Я”. Именно тогда можно говорить о подлинном развитии человека, о движении вперед.

Цель жизни человека заключена в стремлении реализовать свой врожденный потенциал, раскрыть и воплотить в действительности свои способности и таланты, следуя своей истинной природе. И именно поэтому я призываю вас сделать сегодня какое-либо дело более основательнее, усерднее, чем обычно.  Выйдите за границы обыденности и торопливости, станьте чуточку ближе к своему “идеальному Я”.

2 thoughts on “Self-conception

Leave a Reply

